Home » Tennis » Sony-Open-Tennis-2013 » Sony Open Tennis 2014.

Sony Open Tennis 2014

   Posted in : Tennis >> Event starts On Mar 17th, 2014. Ends at Mar 29th, 2014

Sony Open Tennis 2014 will be staged from March 19 to March 30 2014 in Miami, USA. The total prize money involved is $ 4,720,380.

Sony Open Tennis, also known as The Miami Masters previously, is an annual tennis tournament for men and women held in Key Biscayne, Miami, Florida. This tournament, played on hard courts, is an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 competition on the men's tour and a Premier Mandatory contest on the women's tour. This competition is staged at the Tennis Centre at Crandon Park, in March each year. 

The Miami Masters, sponsored by various entities, was originally popular as the Lipton International Players Championships. This, as a part of the Grand Prix Championship Series, was a foremost tournament of the Grand Prix Tennis Tour from 1985 to 1990. The championship was rechristened as the Ericsson Open, in 2000. The event was further renamed, in 2002, as the NASDAQ-100 Open. In 2007, the tournament underwent change of name again due to sponsorship deal, by which the company would pay $20 million over the next four years. The edition was formally renamed as the Sony Open Tennis, from 2013 onwards. Butch Buchholz, a former player, established the tournament, with an intention to promote the tournament as the first major competition of the year (those days, the Australian Open was staged in December). He termed it as the "Winter Wimbledon". The ATP and the WTA agreed to the proposal of Buchholz to fund the prize-money, in return to be entitled to a percentage of the ticket sales, worldwide television rights and to manage the tournament for 15 years.


In February 1985, the first tournament was hosted at Laver's International Tennis Resort at Delray Beach, Florida. Buchholz inducted Alan Mills, the tournament referee, Wimbledon, as the head referee and Ted Tinling, a renowned tennis fashion designer since the 1920s, as director. The tournament’s prize money of US$1.8 million was second only to Wimbledon and the US Open. (The prize money of the event has since been raised to cross US$9 million.)


The tournament was moved to Boca West, in 1986, where it completed two years successfully. Subsequent to this, Buchholz in association with, Merrett Stierheim, Dade County Manager and Women's Tennis Association (WTA) president, relocated the tournament to its present home in Key Biscayne, in 1987. The championship has been upheld as one of the premiere tennis tournaments so as to be in line with the its founder’s aspirations.


Buchholz sold the tournament to IMG, in 1999.

The Sony Ericsson Open, apart from the four Grand Slam championships,  is one of the few events on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) and WTA tours, featuring the main singles draw (for both the men and the women) contested by more than 64 players, and where main draw play crosses one week. The championship is competed by, totally, 96 men and 96 women in the singles and 32 teams in each of the doubles competitions. The event is played over a period of 12 days. ESPN televised early-round coverage in the U.S., while CBS aired the men's and women's finals, as of 2012.

The tournament was the first one in the United States to introduce instant replay enabling players to question doubtful close line calls, in 2006. Two challenges per set were allowed to players, with an additional challenge permitted for tie-breaks. Jamea Jackson was the first player to make the first challenge, in the first round, against Ashley Harkleroad.


The tournament as an event of ATP World Tour Masters 1000, will award up to 1000 ATP Rankings points to the singles and doubles champions. The 2013 championship offered a total prize money of US$5,185,625 shared among the singles and doubles contestants.

The Sony Ericsson Open 2010, a 12-day affair, registered a record 300,000 spectators, and became one of the biggest tennis tournaments, barring the four Majors. The 2011 event attracted 316,267 visitors.


The 2013 Sony Open Tennis (also known as 2013 Miami Masters), was the 29th edition of the Miami Masters event and an outdoor hard court competition contested at the Tennis Centre at Crandon Park in Miami. The tournament staged from March 18 to March 31 2013, was branch of the 2013 ATP World Tour and the 2013 WTA Tour, and treated as an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 and a Premier Mandatory event, respectively.


The defending champions were Novak Djokovic in men’s singles, Agnieszka Radwańska in the women’s, Leander Paes and Radek Stepanek in the men’s doubles, and pairing Maria Kirilenko and Nadia Petrova in the women’s doubles.


The two-time defending champion Novak Djokovic lost in the fourth round to Tommy Haas. It was for the first time in this tournament, from the inauguration, no Americans were contested in the quarterfinals, with the last US player Sam Querrey beaten in the fourth round by Tomas Berdych. Also, it was the first all-European final eight at the Miami Masters.


Andy Murray, defeating David Ferrer in the final, won his second Miami Masters title (after 2009).

Agnieszka Radwańska lost to Serena Williams in the semi-finals.

Serena Williams won the tournament for the record sixth time, defeating four-time finalist Maria Sharapova in the final.

Leander Paes and Radek Štěpánek did not contest as pairing to defend their doubles title.


Štěpánek did not participate due to injury, while Paes partnered Michaël Llodra, but lost in the second round to Grigor Dimitrov and Frederik Nielsen. Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi and Jean-Julien Rojer won the title, defeating Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski in the final.


As Maria Kirilenko opted out, Petrova teamed with Katarina Srebotnik and defended the title, successfully, defeating Lisa Raymond and Laura Robson in the final.


Sony Open Tennis 2014 schedule:


will be updated soon..


Sony Open Tennis 2014 Results:


will be updated soon..



Subscribe For Latest Feeds

Receive The Latest Posts Directly
To Your Email - It's Free:

Email rss

  RSS Feeds

Copyright © 2015, Sports Entire. All Rights Reserved.