Home » Football » UEFA-Champions-League-Final-2014 » 2014 UEFA Champions League Final.

2014 UEFA Champions League Final

   Posted in : Football >> Event starts On May 24th, 2014. Ends at May 24th, 2014
The UEFA Champions League, which is a seasonal association football competition, was established in 1955. The UEFA Champions League is extended to the league champions of all UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) member associations (except Liechtenstein, which has no league competition), in addition to the clubs finishing from second to fourth position in the strongest leagues. Earlier to the 1992–93 seasons, the tournament was known as the European Cup. Initially, only the national leagues champions and the defending champion of the competition were cleared for participation. This underwent a change in 1997 and the runners-up of the stronger leagues were also allowed to compete as well. In the past, the defending champion of the competition was not automatically qualified until the rules were altered in 2005 so as to allow title holders Liverpool to enter the competition

If a team won, before 2009, the UEFA Champions League three times in a row, or five times on the whole, the team was allowed to retain the European Champion Clubs' Cup and a new one was launched. Five teams, Real Madrid, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Milan and Liverpool, earned this privilege.  Since 2009, the original trophy, which is presented to the champions on their victory, is kept by UEFA, with a full-size replica created for that season's champions.


Totally 22 clubs have won the Champions League/European Cup. Real Madrid, having won the competition nine times including the inaugural competition, holds the record for the most victories. Also, they have won the competition in a row for the most times i.e., five times from 1956 to 1960. Benfica, Juventus and Bayern Munich, each losing five finals, have been runners-up the most times. Spain has produced the most champions, with thirteen triumphs from two clubs. Italy has produced 12 winners from three clubs and England 12 from five clubs. English teams were debarred from the competition for five years subsequent to the Heysel disaster in 1985. The present champions are Bayern Munich, who beat Borussia Dortmund at the Wembley Stadium in 2013.


The 59th season of Europe's premier club football tournament the 2014 UEFA Champions League Final will be the 2013–14 UEFA Champions League, organised by UEFA, and the 22nd season since it was retitled from the European Champion Clubs' Cup to the UEFA Champions League. The Final will be contested at the Estádio da Luz in Lisbon, Portugal on May 24 2014.


The winners will play against the winners of the UEFA Europa League 2013–14, in the 2014 UEFA Super Cup, and also qualify for the semi-finals of the 2014 FIFA Club World Cup as the UEFA delegate.


The venue of the match for 2014 UEFA Champions League Final, the Estádio da Luz in Lisbon, Portugal was selected at a UEFA Executive Committee meeting held in Istanbul, Turkey on March 20 2012.


 Since 2003, it is the home stadium of Benfica has been remodelled and reconstructed to host matches of UEFA Euro 2004 including the final. The original stadium with the same name, bulldozed in 2003, hosted the 1992 European Cup Winners' Cup Final. The last time a European Cup Final played in Lisbon was the 1967 European Cup Final, played at the Estádio Nacional. Also, Lisbon hosted the 2005 UEFA Cup Final at the Estádio José Alvalade, home of Benfica's local contenders sporting.


The previous Portugal international player Luís Figo, who won the Champions League in 2002 with Real Madrid, was named as the ambassador for the final.

UEFA made public the logo of the final on August 29 2013, the same day as the group stage draw was made.

Wembley Stadium has hosted the European Cup final seven times, including twice in the past three seasons.


England's national stadium Wembley Stadium, and home of the England national football team, was selected the venue for the 2013 final on June 16 2011. Wembley, having hosted the 2011 final, created history for becoming the first stadium in the tournament's records to host the final twice in three years. While talking about the short time lag between the two finals, UEFA President Michel Platini explained that the final would mark the celebration of 150 years of the Football Association's persistence. It was the seventh occasion that Wembley hosted the final after hosting the 1963, 1968, 1971, 1978, 1992 and the 2011 finals of Europe's premier club contest.


This was for the first time that the final was contested between two German teams in the history of the Champions League (and European Cup). There were three more instances of previous Champions League finals contested between two clubs from the same nation: 2000 (Spain), 2003 (Italy), and 2008 (England).


This was Bayern Munich's 10th  European Cup/Champions League final, third overall after  Real Madrid and Milan who had won the finals four times  in 1974, 1975, 1976, and the latest in 2001. The Final of 2013 is Bayern's third final in four years. Earlier they had lost in both 2010 and 2012 finals (as the first team since 1984 to reach the Final held in their home stadium), adding to previous final losses in 1982, 1987, and 1999.


Dortmund played their second Champions League final, after winning their first title in 1997.

The 2013 UEFA Champions League Final was the 58th season of the UEFA Champions League.

The final was played on Saturday, May 25 2013, at Wembley Stadium in London, England, between German Bundesliga clubs Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich. In the first all-German Champions League final, Bayern won the match by 2–1 against Mario Mandžukić and man of the match Arjen Robben coming either side of an İlkay Gunwoman penalty for Dortmund.


2014 UEFA Champions League Final Schedule:


2014 UEFA Champions League Final schedule will be updated soon..


2014 UEFA Champions League Final Results:


2014 UEFA Champions League Final results will be updated soon..



Subscribe For Latest Feeds

Receive The Latest Posts Directly
To Your Email - It's Free:

Email rss

  RSS Feeds

Copyright © 2015, Sports Entire. All Rights Reserved.